A well-prepared and legally compliant Nevada eviction notice is the key to a successful eviction. Create a printable notice form today with step-by-step help and personalized templates.
Last Update May 20th, 2023
Fill forms in a few steps
Save, print, and download
Done in 5 minutes
- Nevada Eviction Notice Types
- Nevada Eviction Laws
- Nevada Eviction Process
- Nevada Eviction Notice Sample
- FAQs About Nevada Eviction Notices
Download our professional examples
Nevada Eviction Notice Types
It’s necessary to provide the correct type of Nevada eviction notice to the tenant you’re removing from your property. If you don’t, the eviction could be overturned or take significantly longer to complete.
You must give your tenant the precise legal document for the situation, detailing a valid legal reason for the eviction under NV statutes. This will also affect how long you must give the resident as notice before they have to leave the property.
As seen below, there are a few different options in Nevada when completing an eviction.
5-Day Notice to Quit (Non-Payment)
If a tenant doesn’t comply with the rental payment schedule, the landlord may present them with a 5-Day Notice to Quit. This obliges them to pay rent or quit within 120 hours.
If the tenant complies and pays the rent then the notice will be nullified. If they refuse to pay or vacate the property the landlord will be able to pursue the matter further through the courts.
5-Day Notice to Quit (Non-Compliance)
In the case of a lease violation, the landlord may issue an NV 5-Day Notice to Quit for Non-Compliance. This will give the tenant 3 days to correct the breach before they are obliged to leave the property from the 5th day following service of the notice.
However, unconditional Non-Compliance notices can be issued too, for more serious offenses or to terminate “at-will” tenancies. These don’t give the tenant any chance to correct their breach of the lease.
30-Day Eviction Notice
Landlords with tenants on flexible monthly rental agreements may end the tenancy without cause, as long as they provide a 30-Day Eviction letter. If this is used, the tenant must leave the property within 30 days of this notice being delivered.
Be aware, however, if the landlord continues to accept rental payments during this period, the notice will be considered null and void. This does not include any payments of owed back rent.
Nevada Eviction Laws
The NV eviction notice itself must be delivered to the tenant as an official letter or form detailing the key information about the property and tenant. It must also clearly explain the reason the landlord wishes to terminate the lease and how long the resident has to comply with the notice.
An eviction notice in Nevada is only legally valid if it provides the correct amount of notice based on the purpose for the lease termination. The reason you evict the resident must also comply with NV law.
In Nevada, you may evict someone for the following reasons:
|Nonpayment of rent||5 days' notice|
|Lease violations||5 days' notice|
|Lease termination||30 days' notice|
|Illegal activity||3 days' notice|
|Substantial damage to property||3 days' notice|
Nevada Eviction Process
The Nevada eviction process must be followed precisely to ensure that the tenant is legally removed from the property. Therefore the landlord must take the correct steps and follow the right procedures, as detailed by NV’s state law. To correctly complete an eviction in Nevada, the landlord must do the following:
Step 1: Serve the tenant with a written statement giving a legally valid reason for the eviction and the correct amount of days’ notice for them to comply.
Step 2: If the tenant does not comply with the eviction notice, the landlord can file a complaint with a local court and a summons will be served.
Step 3: The tenant and landlord can make their case in court. The presiding judge can then decide whether the eviction can proceed or not.
Step 4: If the judge rules in the landlord’s favor and the tenant still refuses to vacate, the owner may process a Court Order with the court clerk.
Step 5: When the Court Order has been processed the landlord may file the document with the county sheriff. The tenant can then be forcibly evicted.
Nevada Eviction Notice Sample
When you prepare your own Nevada eviction notice, it can be hard to have a clear idea of what the final document will look like. If you need a little extra guidance on how your legal document will appear, simply review our eviction notice sample below.
FAQs About Nevada Eviction Notices
Before starting your eviction notice for real, it is sensible to understand the ins and outs of these important legal documents. Read more about Nevada’s eviction notices in our FAQs below and learn how to use these forms effectively.
How Long is the Eviction Process in Nevada?
The eviction process in Nevada usually takes under 1 month to complete although can take up to 180 days in the longest cases. If a valid eviction notice is delivered, this is often enough to get the tenant to leave or cure the issue (if allowed). This can reduce the time down to as little as 3-5 days from when the notice has been served.
How to File an Eviction in Nevada?
If a tenant doesn ’t comply after being served with a legally valid Nevada eviction notice it will be necessary to file an Unlawful Detainer case against them. To do this the landlord will need to visit their local courthouse and file the case with the clerk of the court and provide the following evidence:
A copy of the lease agreement
The eviction notice that has been served (including proof of service)
Proof of the violation such as photographs, police reports, or receipts
Any witnessing parties to the violations
How Much Does It Cost to Evict Someone?
How much evicting a tenant costs will often depend on how long the removal process lasts. If you serve the Nevada eviction notice and that leads to a resolution of the dispute, or the tenant simply leaves as instructed, then the costs are very low (below $200 not including potentially lost rent).
However, if the tenant refuses to leave the property this could lead to a more protracted and expensive legal case. If you need to seek legal advice or representation at any step of the process, this will of course carry much higher costs.