Create a comprehensive and printable Kentucky eviction notice that conforms to state and federal law and provides the correct amount of notice for a tenant. Start now with our legal document maker.
Last Update July 21st, 2021
Kentucky Eviction Notice Types
A legal eviction in Kentucky can only be made for a number of acceptable reasons. This means that landlords must provide a valid basis along with the correct amount of days’ notice in order to comply with the legal eviction process within the state.
Not using the correct Kentucky legal document, in this case, can lead to delays or even court dismissal of the eviction, so it is important to choose the right type.
7-Day Notice to Pay Rent
If a tenant doesn’t comply with the rental payment schedule, the landlord may present them with a KY 7-Day Notice to Pay Rent. This obliges them to pay rent or quit within 168 hours.
If the tenant complies and pays the rent then the notice will be nullified. If they refuse to pay or vacate the property, the landlord will be able to pursue the matter further through the courts.
14-Day Notice Comply or Quit
In the case of a lease violation, the landlord may issue a 14-Day Notice to Comply or Quit. This will often give the tenant 14 days to correct the breach before they will be obliged to leave the property.
However, unconditional 14-Day Non-Compliance notices can be issued too for more serious offenses or if the tenant commits a second violation within 6 months of the last one. These don’t give the occupants any chance to correct their breach of the lease.
30-Day Notice to Quit (Month-to-Month)
30 Day-Notice to Quit documents are used to evict month-to-month tenants or those who don’t have a fixed lease without providing any given cause. This allows the landlord to inform the tenant that they must vacate the property within 30 days or face a legal challenge.
This kind of eviction notice can also be used to evict a tenant in Kentucky who doesn’t have a lease agreement with the landlord or is squatting on the premises.
Kentucky Eviction Laws
Your Kentucky eviction notice must follow the state’s rental property laws, in order to be valid. There are a number of important requirements that are obligatory when proceeding with the eviction of a rental tenant in KY.
An eviction in Kentucky may only happen in the case of:
Nonpayment of rent: 7 days’ notice
Lease violations: 14 days’ notice
Ending a month-to-month tenancy: 30 days’ notice
The Kentucky eviction notice itself must be delivered to the tenant as an official letter or form detailing the key information about the property and tenant. It must also clearly explain the reason the landlord wishes to terminate the lease and how long the resident has to comply with the notice.
Kentucky Eviction Process
The Kentucky eviction process must be followed precisely to ensure that the tenant is legally removed from the property. Therefore the landlord must take the correct steps and follow the right procedures, as detailed by Kentucky’s state law. To correctly complete an eviction in Kentucky, the landlord must do the following:
Step 1: Serve the tenant with a written statement giving a legally valid reason for the eviction and the correct amount of days’ notice for them to comply.
Step 2: If the tenant does not comply with the eviction notice the landlord can file a Forcible Detainer complaint with a local court and a summons will be served.
Step 3: The tenant and landlord can make their case in court. The presiding judge can then decide whether the eviction can proceed or not.
Step 4: If the judge rules in the landlord’s favor, the tenant will have 7 days to vacate. If they still refuse to leave, the owner may process a Warrant of Possession with the court clerk.
Step 5: When the Warrant of Possession has been processed the landlord may file the document with the county sheriff. The authorities will then schedule a date to evict and carry out the forcible eviction.
FAQs About Kentucky Eviction Notices
Before starting your eviction notice for real, it is sensible to understand the ins and outs of these important legal documents. Read more about Kentucky’s eviction notices in our FAQs below and learn how to use these forms effectively.
How to Evict a Tenant in Kentucky with No Lease?
Kentucky landlords still need to serve a proper eviction notice even if the person residing on the property doesn’t have an official lease. In the case of month-to-month renters, this requires the landlord to provide a 30-Day notice, before terminating their holdover or “at-will” tenancy.
It is important to bear in mind that landlords are still required to serve notice even when evicting squatters or illegal occupants. In this case, they will need to deliver a 30-Day Notice to Quit, giving the resident 1 month to leave the premises.
How Long is the Eviction Process in Kentucky?
The eviction process in Kentucky usually only takes around 1-2 months to complete. If a valid KY eviction notice is delivered, this is often enough to get the tenant to leave or cure the issue (if allowed). This can reduce the time down to as little as 7 days from when the notice has been served.
How to File an Eviction in Kentucky
If a tenant doesn’t comply after being served with a legally valid Kentucky eviction notice it will be necessary to file a Forcible Entry Detainer case against them. To do this the landlord will need to visit their local district courthouse and file the case its civil department and provide the following evidence:
A copy of the lease agreement
The eviction notice that has been served (including proof of service)
Proof of any violations such as photographs, police reports, or receipts
Any witnessing parties to the violations