If you are a landlord an eviction notice is an essential legal instrument you need to prepare with care. Customize your own Pennsylvania eviction notice with our step-by-step template designer.
Last Update July 21st, 2021
Pennsylvania Eviction Notice Types
It’s necessary to provide the correct type of Pennsylvania eviction notice to the tenant you’re removing from your property. If you don’t, the eviction could be overturned or take significantly longer to complete.
You must give your tenant the precise legal document for the situation, detailing a valid legal reason for the eviction under PA statutes. This will also affect how long you must give the resident as notice before they have to leave the property.
As seen below, there are a few different options in Pennsylvania when completing an eviction.
0-Day Notice to Quit (Non-Payment)
If a tenant doesn’t comply with the rental payment schedule, the landlord may present them with a 10-Day Notice to Quit. This obliges them to pay rent or quit within the time given.
If the tenant complies and pays the rent then the notice will be nullified. If they refuse to pay or vacate the property the landlord will be able to pursue the matter further through the courts.
15-Day Notice to Quit
In the case of a lease violation, the landlord may issue a 15-Day Notice to Quit for Non-Compliance. This will give the tenant a period of time to correct the breach or oblige them to leave the property.
This kind of notice can also be used unconditionally to terminate a lease that is due to expire. However, you can only issue a 15-Day Notice to Quit for any reason if the lease is due to last less than one year. If the contract is longer than 12 months, you will need a 30-Day Notice to Quit instead.
30-Day Notice to Quit
If tenants have a lease agreement that lasts over 1 year and they commit any violations, the landlord may issue them with a 30-Day Notice to Quit.
Like the 15-Day notice, these documents allow the tenant to correct the issue within the notice period to avoid leaving the property. Additionally, an unconditional version of the 30-Day notice can also be used to terminate a lease.
PA Eviction Laws
A printable PA eviction notice must follow your individual state’s rental property laws.
There are a number of important requirements that must be followed when proceeding with the eviction of a rental tenant.
An eviction in Pennsylvania can only be made with a valid reason to do so. This may be done in the following situations:
Nonpayment of rent: 10 days’ notice
Lease violations: 15-30 days’ notice (depending on the length of the contract)
Termination of a lease: 15-30 days’ notice (depending on the length of the contract)
The notice itself must be delivered to the resident as an official letter or form. This will detail the key information about the property, the tenant, and the reason the landlord wishes to terminate the lease.
Pennsylvania Eviction Process
Evicting a tenant in Pennsylvania follows a strict legal process. When issuing an eviction notice, you must make sure that you correctly:
Detail the reason the lease is being terminated.
Provide sufficient time for the tenant to respond.
Serve the notice in a legally appropriate manner.
In most cases, that is enough to make a tenant vacate on their own. However, as an eviction is a lawsuit procedure, it may be necessary to take additional steps if the resident refuses to leave.
To complete an eviction process in Pennsylvania, you will need to:
Serve an eviction notice with the correct notice period and a legal reason to evict.
File for an eviction in a local court if the tenant doesn’t obey the notice.
Attend the court hearing in person to make your case to the judge.
Request a order of Possession(sometimes known as a Writ of Possession) with the from the clerk of the court if the judge rules in your favor.
Deliver Order of Possession to local law enforcement, so they may carry out a forced eviction.
Evictions from Mobile Home Parks in PA
Under Pennsylvania’s Mobile Home Rights Act and state statutes, there are special rules for the eviction of anyone from a mobile home park. In this case, the state defines any site with more than 3 mobile properties for lease within this classification bracket.
These rules state that any eviction carried out between April 1st and September 1st must give their tenants 20 days to move out from when notice is given. This rises to 30 days if the eviction happens between September 1st and April 1st.
FAQs About Pennsylvania Eviction Notices
Before starting your eviction notice for real, it is sensible to understand the ins and outs of these important legal documents. Read more about Pennsylvania eviction notices in our FAQs below and learn how to use them effectively.
How to Evict Someone in Pennsylvania?
To successfully evict a tenant in Pennsylvania state, the landlord or property manager must serve a legally valid eviction notice. This must provide the correct number of days’ notice and a legitimate reason to evict. It can be served in person or to a family member or other person living on the premises or left in a conspicuous location.
If the tenant doesn’t comply and leave the property as instructed, the landlord will then have to petition a court. If the judge finds in their favor they will then be able to use a local marshal or sheriff to forcibly evict the tenant.
How Long Does it Take to Evict a Tenant in Pennsylvania?
In many cases, a Pennsylvania eviction can be completed in a couple of weeks. Once the eviction notice is served, the tenant will have between 10 - 30 days to vacate. If they comply then the process will be over as soon as the notice period ends.
However, serving the eviction notice incorrectly can lead to delays in the process. Also, if the tenant refuses to vacate eviction procedures can take somewhat longer. Going through the court process can take longer depending on how busy the district or housing court system is at the time.
How to File an Eviction in Pennsylvania?
If a tenant doesn’t comply after being served with a legally valid Pennsylvania eviction notice it will be necessary to file a Landlord and Tenant’s Complaint against them. You will need to visit your local Justice of the Peace or courthouse and provide the following evidence:
A copy of the lease agreement
The eviction notice that has been served (including any proof of service)
Proof of the violation such as photographs, police reports, or receipts
Any witnessing parties to the violations