There are a few state laws in IA that must be followed in Alaska when you create a rental application for tenants. Failure to comply with these rules could lead to serious legal consequences and allow the tenant to sue.
You can charge as much as you wish as a rental application fee. There are no laws in Alaska providing a set limit, although this fee cannot be attributed to the security deposit.
It is also recommended to only charge enough to cover the costs of any background checks. Any amount charged to the tenant is also non-refundable.
Landlords cannot charge more than 2 months’ rent under Alaska law (AS 34.03.070(a)). However, if the monthly rent is over $2,000 there is no maximum limit for the security deposit.
Housing Discrimination Law
In Alaska, there is no specific state law relating to housing discrimination. However, the Fair Housing Act (FHA) is in place. The FHA states that it is illegal to discriminate based on the following characteristics:
As a consequence, you are not allowed to ask for any of these details on an Alaska Rental Application form, nor to include them in the decision-making process.
Notice of Eligibility
Tenants must be told about any specific screening criteria, as well as the reasons that they could be denied or approved by the landlord. To show that this information has been shared, a signature of acknowledgment from the tenant is required.
Consent Credit Check
Under the Federal Credit Reporting Act (FCRA), tenants being screened in Alaska must consent to any credit checks you wish to carry out. To make sure you comply with the law, the applicant must provide written acknowledgment of the screening on the application form.