There are various disclosures and addendums that must be contained within Maine lease agreementswhen they are completed and signed. These are made to inform the tenant about any health risks, potential issues, or details about how the property is managed.
The list below includes the essential addendums in Maine:
Bedbug disclosure: If either the rental unit or an adjacent unit is being treated or has a bedbug infestation, the tenant must be told in writing (§ 6021-A).
Electricity to common areas: You must show in the contract that both parties agree to receive bills for any utilities used on the properties for common areas in multi-unit buildings, such as hallways or stairways. You can’t bill tenants without acknowledgment of this mutual agreement (§ 6024).
Energy efficiency disclosure: The landlord or property manager must provide the tenant with information on the rental unit’s energy efficiency if the tenant will pay extra for the utility costs (§ 6030-C). An acknowledgment of this information must be signed by the tenant.
Lead paint disclosure: Landlords must disclose whether lead paint can be found on the property (if the building was constructed before 1978).
Radon gas disclosure form: Maine landlords from 2012 onwards must check their property once every 10 years for the presence of Radon gas (§ 6030-D). The findings of these checks must be communicated via a Radon disclosure form, which must be given to every tenant. The tenant(s) must sign the form acknowledging they have received the information.
Rental housing rights disclosure: If the rental unit is in Portland, Maine the tenant must be given a copy of the Rental Housing Rights Disclosure form before moving in.
Security deposit holding location: You must notify the prospective tenant on how the security deposit will be collected and held (§ 6038).
Smoking policy: The landlord must state upfront in the contract what the smoking policy is for the rental unit and the premises if it is a multi-unit building (§ 6030-E).
Maine Lease Agreement Laws
For aMaine lease agreement to be legally binding and valid, it must be written according to the laws of ME state. If this is not done properly, the contract will be legally contestable and could be declared invalid when put under scrutiny. These rules will also determine what kind of procedures and terms you may ask the tenant to abide by.
The overview below includes the most important laws to consider when renting a property in Maine:
|Maximum security deposit
|The maximum security deposit that can be charged in Maine,
is two months’ rent (§ 6032).
|Returning a security deposit
|The security deposit amount must be given back to the tenant within 30
days of the date the tenant vacates the property if they have a fixed lease, or
21 days if there is a month-to-month contract (§ 6033).
If any deductions will be taken from the security deposit, the tenant must be
informed of these in advance of its return.
|Landlord’s right to enter
|Landlords must give 24 hours’ advance notice before entering the rental
property for non-emergency reasons (§ 6025).