Contact us whenever you need it!  +1 855 997 0206Contact hours: Mon-Fri 8am - 10pm ET

Free Vermont Residential Lease Agreement

Start a comprehensive and legally binding Vermont lease agreement to rent real estate you own to one or more tenants. Get guidance on each step and expert tips with the help of our contract maker.

Last Update November 29th, 2022

productPreview
create

Fill forms in a few steps

Save, print, and download

Done in 5 minutes

What Is a Vermont Residential Lease Agreement

A VT lease agreement is a legally binding contract between a landlord and a tenant. This is written to conform to state laws where the property is located. In Vermont, these allow both parties to comply with a series of set terms for a specified number of months or years.

Rental contracts and lease agreements have a lot of similarities as they both set out payment plans and the terms of use for a house or apartment. 

However, the big difference is the duration that they cover. Rental agreements usually only cover short-term tenancies of a few months at a time or month-to-month contracts. Leases, on the other hand, cover a set number of months or years.

A lease agreement should contain the following details:

  • How long the tenant may legally reside in the property

  • How much rent should be paid

  • Information about the security deposits necessary

  • When rental installments are due

  • Any additional costs that must be serviced by the tenant

  • The rules regarding the proper use of the property

  • Situations that constitute lease violation eviction procedures

Types of Vermont Lease Agreements

Before starting a Vermont lease agreement, it is important to know which type to create. There are many distinct varieties of these legal instruments, and each deals with a different type of rental situation. 

The most common types of lease agreements in Vermont include:

Type of Lease Agreement Description
Standard Fixed set of terms that both the landlord and tenant commit to for a series of months or years.
Rent-to-own Rent-to-own options allow the possibility for tenants to purchase the property they are renting.
Month-to-month Similar basic terms to standard lease agreements, but they can be terminated for any reason with 60 days’ notice. However, if the tenant has lived in the property for over 2 years parties must give 90 days’ notice (§ 4467).
Commercial Utilized by tenants that intend to use a piece of real estate to run a business.
Room rental For rental properties that are located within shared living areas.
Sublease Permits tenants to assign or “sublease” the property to another person.

Vermont Lease Addendums and Disclosures

There are various disclosures and addendums that must be contained within Vermont lease agreementswhen they are completed and signed. These are made to inform the tenant about any health risks, potential issues, or details about how the property is managed. 

The list below includes the essential addendums in Vermont: 

  • Lead paint disclosure: Landlords must disclose whether lead paint can be found on the property (if the building was constructed before 1978). 

Vermont Lease Agreement Laws

For aVermont lease agreement to be legally binding and valid, it must be written according to the laws of VT state. If this is not done properly, the contract will be legally contestable and could be declared invalid when put under scrutiny. These rules will also determine what kind of procedures and terms you may ask the tenant to abide by.

The overview below includes the most important laws to consider when renting a property in Vermont: 

Law Specifics
Security deposit Landlords in Vermont have no legal cap on what they can charge for a security deposit.

However, they must return the sum within 14 days of when the tenant leaves the property at the end of the lease (§ 4461).

The only exception is if the property was used as a seasonal residence rather than as a primary dwelling. In this case, the landlord has up to 60 days to return the deposit.

Landlord’s right to enter 48 hours’ advance notice must be given by landlords before visiting the rental property. They must also only enter between the hours of 9 AM to 9 PM when they do so (§ 4460).

Vermont Residential Lease Agreement Sample

Creating and putting a lease agreement into action in Vermont is a major commitment. It can help to explore an example template first to get a clear idea of what information should be found in your completed document

Our sample Vermont lease agreement below can help you understand the details included in this legal arrangement a little better.

Other Real Estate Documents

Besides lease agreements, there are various other legal documents that are commonly used by landlords. If you are the owner of a rental property, one of the following forms may be helpful for you: 

FAQs About Vermont Lease Agreement

It is important to carefully prepare a Vermont lease agreement to suit the needs of the landlord and tenant exactly. To help demystify the process a little, simply review our FAQs below to learn more about the specificities of rental contracts in Vermont. 

Can You Write Your Own Lease Agreement in Vermont?

It is possible to create a Vermont lease agreement completely online. Using our residential lease agreement maker you can tailor your document for your specific needs and take advantage of professional templates and expert tips.

Can I Enforce a Verbal Agreement With My Tenant in Vermont?

It’s important to have a written Vermont lease agreement in operation whether you are a landlord or a tenant.

There are many advantages to having a formal contract for a rental property such as the right to recourse if the terms are violated and the protection of important legal rights for rental property owners and residents.

Can a Lease Agreement Be Broken in Vermont?

Usually, a Vermont lease agreement cannot be changed once it is signed. Its terms will remain fixed until it reaches its agreed expiration date or it is terminated due to a violation by either party. 

With a rental agreement or month-by-month tenancy, the landlord or tenant can choose to terminate the agreement after 60 days’ notice. If the tenant has been on the property for over 2 years this increases to 90 days.

Try LawDistrict Now

Instant and complete access to our entire library of legal forms

Edit, download and print in PDF and Word format from any device

Save time and money on legal document creation