It’s necessary to provide the correct type of Connecticut eviction notice to the tenant you’re removing from your property. If you don’t, the eviction could be overturned or take significantly longer to complete.
You must give your tenant the precise legal document for the situation, detailing a valid legal reason for the eviction under CT statutes. This will also affect how long you must give the resident as notice before they have to leave the property.
As seen below, there are a few different options in Connecticut when completing an eviction.
3-Day Notice to Quit (Non-Payment)
If a tenant doesn’t comply with the rental payment schedule, the landlord may present them with a 3-Day Notice to Quit, which must be served 4-9 days after lack of payment depending on the tenancy in place. This obliges the resident to pay rent or quit within 72 hours.
If the tenant complies and pays the rent then the notice will be nullified. If they refuse to pay or vacate the property, the landlord will be able to pursue the matter further through the courts.
15-Day Notice to Quit (Non-Compliance)
In the case of a material lease violation, the landlord may issue a 15-Day Notice to Quit. This will often give the tenant 15 days to correct the breach before they are obliged to leave the property.
However, unconditional 15-Day Notice to Quit forms can be issued too for more serious offenses. These don’t give the tenant any chance to correct their breach of the lease.
30-Day Notice to Quit (Month-to-Month)
30 Day-Notice to Quit documents are used to evict month-to-month tenants or those who don’t have a fixed lease without providing any given cause. This allows the landlord to inform the tenant that they must vacate the property within 30 days or face a legal challenge.