A well-prepared and legally compliant Arkansas eviction notice is the first step to a successful eviction. Create your own printable notice form today with our personalized expert templates.
Last Update June 20th, 2022
- Arkansas Eviction Notice Types
- Arkansas Eviction Laws
- Arkansas Eviction Process
- Arkansas Eviction Notice Sample
- FAQs About Arkansas Eviction Notices
Download our professional examples
Arkansas Eviction Notice Types
To evict a tenant successfully in Arkansas you must present them with the appropriate eviction notice for the circumstances. This allows you to conform with the laws in Arkansas by providing a legally valid reason for the eviction and the correct amount of notice necessary under AR statutes.
Choosing the right kind of eviction notice is key to removing a tenant quickly. If you don’t follow the legally mandated rules, you may have the eviction overturned or delayed by the local courts.
3-Day Notice to Quit (Non-Payment)
If the tenant fails to pay rent, you can serve them with a 3-Day eviction notice. This requires the tenant to either pay the rent owed or to quit the property within 72 hours. However, in Arkansas, there is a five-day grace period before a notice can be issued in the case of non-payment.
Assuming the tenant pays the rent within this time given, the notice will be null and void. However, if payment isn’t made, and they still refuse to leave, the landlord can sue the tenant in court
14-Day Notice to Quit (Non-Compliance)
In situations where the tenant violates the terms of the lease, landlords can issue them with a 14-Day Notice to Quit for Non-Compliance. This gives the resident a chance to correct the violation within 336 hours, or to leave the premises.
However, unconditional 14-Day Non-Compliance notices can be issued too for more serious offenses. These don’t give the tenant any chance to correct their breach of the lease.
30-Day Notice to Quit (Month-to-Month)
30 Day-Notice to Quit documents are used to evict month-to-month tenants or those who don’t have a fixed lease without providing any given cause. This allows the landlord to inform the tenant that they must vacate the property within 30 days or face a legal challenge.
Arkansas Eviction Laws
Your Arkansas eviction notice must follow the state’s rental property laws, in order to be valid. There are a number of important requirements that are obligatory when proceeding with the eviction of a rental tenant.
An eviction in Arkansas may only happen in the case of:
|Nonpayment of rent||3 days' notice|
|Lease violations||14 days' notice|
|Lease termination||30 days' notice|
The AR eviction notice itself must be delivered to the tenant as an official letter or form detailing the key information about the property and tenant. It must also clearly explain the reason the landlord wishes to terminate the lease and how long the resident has to comply with the notice.
Arkansas Eviction Process
The Arkansas eviction process must be followed precisely to ensure that the tenant is legally removed from the property. Therefore the landlord must take the correct steps and follow the right procedures, as detailed by AR state law. To correctly complete an eviction in Arkansas, the landlord must do the following:
Step 1: Serve the tenant with a written statement giving a legally valid reason for the eviction and the correct amount of days’ notice for them to comply.
Step 2: If the tenant does not comply with the eviction notice the landlord can file a complaint with a local court and a summons will be served.
Step 3: The tenant and landlord can make their case in court. The presiding judge can then decide whether the eviction can proceed or not.
Step 4: If the judge rules in the landlord’s favor and the tenant still refuses to vacate, the owner may process a Writ of Possession with the court clerk.
Step 5: When the Writ of Possession has been processed the landlord may file the document with the county sheriff. The tenant will then have 24 hours to leave before being forcibly evicted.
Arkansas Eviction Notice Sample
When you prepare your own Arkansas eviction notice, it can be hard to have a clear idea of what the final document will look like. If you need a little extra guidance on how your legal document will appear, simply review our eviction notice sample below.
FAQs About Arkansas Eviction Notices
Before starting your eviction notice for real, it is sensible to understand the ins and outs of these important legal documents. Read more about Arkansas’s eviction notices in our FAQs below and learn how to use these forms effectively.
How to Evict Someone in Arkansas?
To successfully evict a tenant in Arkansas state, the landlord or property manager must serve a legally valid eviction notice. This must provide the correct number of days to comply and a legitimate reason to evict. It can be served in person, to a family member, someone else living on the premises, or left in a conspicuous location.
If the tenant doesn’t comply and vacate the property as instructed, the landlord will then have to petition a court. If the judge rules in their favor they will then be able to use a local marshal or sheriff to forcibly evict the tenant.
How Many Days Notice Does a Landlord Need to Give in Arkansas?
The notice period a landlord needs to give in Arkansas always depends on their reason to evict. When an Arkansas eviction notice is served it must provide the correct duration for the infraction or it won’t be valid. This can be as few as 3 days for a missed rental payment and up to 30 days when terminating a lease.
How Much Does It Cost to Evict Someone?
How much evicting a tenant costs will often depend on how long the removal process lasts. If you serve the AR eviction notice and that leads to a resolution of the dispute, or the tenant simply leaves as instructed, then the costs are very low (below $300 not including potentially lost rent).
However, if the tenant refuses to leave the property this could lead to a more protracted and expensive legal case. If you need to seek legal advice or representation at any step of the process, this will of course carry much higher costs.