If you are a landlord an eviction notice is an essential legal instrument you need to prepare with care. Customize your own Maryland eviction notice with our step-by-step template designer.
Last Update July 21st, 2021
Maryland Eviction Notice Types
It’s necessary to provide the correct type of Maryland eviction notice to the tenant you’re removing from your property. If you don’t, the eviction could be overturned or take significantly longer to complete.
You must give your tenant the precise legal document for the situation, detailing a valid legal reason for the eviction under MD statutes. This will also affect how long you must give the resident as notice before they have to leave the property.
As seen below, there are a few different options in Maryland when completing an eviction.
Immediate Notice to Quit (Non-Payment)
If a tenant doesn’t comply with the rental payment schedule, the landlord may present them with an Immediate Notice to Quit. This can be filed immediately, but 5 days’ notice to appear in court must be given. If the tenant pays all missing rent and costs before the execution of the eviction order, they can remain at the property.
If the tenant doesn’t pay and the landlord wins, the tenant has 4 days to vacate. In the event that they refuse to pay or vacate the property, the landlord will be able to pursue the matter further through the courts and law enforcement.
14-Day Notice to Quit (Imminent Danger)
Unconditional 14-Day Non-Compliance notices can be issued when the tenant creates a risk of imminent danger to themselves, other tenants, or the property. These don’t give the tenant any chance to correct their breach of the lease.
30-Day Notice to Quit (Non-Compliance)
In situations where the tenant violates the terms of the lease, landlords can issue them with a 30-Day Notice to Quit for Non-Compliance. This gives the resident a chance to correct the violation within 720 hours, or to leave the premises.
This can also be issued as an unconditional notice, giving the tenant no option to correct the break in the terms. However, this is usually only done when more serious breaches of the contract occur.
30-Day Notice to Quit (Month-to-Month)
Landlords with tenants on flexible monthly rental agreements may end the tenancy without cause, as long as they provide a 30-Day Eviction letter.
If this is used, the tenant must leave the property within 30 days of this notice being delivered.
Be aware, however, if you continue to accept rental payments during this period, the notice will be considered null and void. This also does not include any payments of owed back rent.
Maryland Eviction Laws
An eviction notice in Maryland is only legally valid if it provides the correct amount of notice based on the purpose for the lease termination. The reason you evict the resident must also comply with MD law.
In Maryland, you may evict someone for the following reasons:
|Non-payment of rent||Immediate|
|Lease violations||30 days' notice|
|Breach of lease posing a risk of imminent danger||14 days' notice|
|Termination of a month-to-month||30 days' notice|
The MD eviction notice itself must be delivered to the tenant as an official letter or form detailing the key information about the property and tenant. It must also clearly explain the reason the landlord wishes to terminate the lease and how long the resident has to comply with the notice.
Maryland Eviction Process
Evicting a tenant in Maryland follows a strict legal process. When issuing an eviction notice, you must make sure that you correctly:
Detail the reason the lease is being terminated.
Provide sufficient time for the tenant to respond.
Serve the notice in a legally appropriate manner.
In most cases, that is enough to make a tenant vacate on their own. However, as an eviction is a lawsuit procedure, it may be necessary to take additional steps if the resident refuses to leave.
To complete an eviction process in Maryland, you will need to:
Serve an eviction notice with the correct notice period and a legal reason to evict.
File for an eviction in a local court if the tenant doesn’t obey the notice.
Attend the court hearing in person to make your case to the judge.
Request a Warrant of Restitution from the clerk of the court if the judge rules in your favor.
Deliver Warrant of Restitution to local law enforcement, so they may carry out a forced eviction.
FAQs About Maryland Eviction Notices
Before starting your eviction notice for real, it is sensible to understand the ins and outs of these important legal documents. Read more about Maryland’s eviction notices in our FAQs below and learn how to use these forms effectively.
How to Evict Someone in Maryland?
To successfully evict a tenant in Maryland state, the landlord or property manager must serve a legally valid eviction notice. This must provide the correct number of days to comply and a legitimate reason to evict. It can be served in person, to a family member, someone else living on the premises, or left in a conspicuous location.
If the tenant doesn’t comply and vacate the property as instructed, the landlord will then have to petition a court. If the judge rules in their favor they will then be able to use a local marshal or sheriff to forcibly evict the tenant.
How to Evict a Tenant in Maryland with No Lease?
Maryland landlords still need to serve a proper eviction notice even if the person residing on the property doesn’t have an official lease. In the case of month-to-month renters, this requires the landlord to provide a 30-Day Notice to Quit, before terminating their holdover or “at-will” tenancy.
It is important to bear in mind that landlords are still required to serve an eviction notice even when evicting squatters or illegal occupants. In this case, they will need to file a Wrongful Detainer suit in the District Court of the county where the property is located.
How Much Does It Cost to Evict Someone?
How much evicting a tenant costs will often depend on how long the removal process lasts. If you serve the Maryland eviction notice and that leads to a resolution of the dispute, or the tenant simply leaves as instructed, then the costs are very low (below $500 not including potentially lost rent).
However, if the tenant refuses to leave the property this could lead to a more protracted and expensive legal case. If you need to seek legal advice or representation at any step of the process, this will of course carry much higher costs.