If you are a landlord, an eviction notice is an essential legal instrument you need to prepare with care. Customize your own WY eviction notice with our step-by-step template designer.
Last Update March 12th, 2023
Fill forms in a few steps
Save, print, and download
Done in 5 minutes
- Wyoming Eviction Notice Types
- Wyoming Eviction Laws
- Wyoming Eviction Process
- Eviction Notice Sample
- Other Real Estate Documents
- FAQs About Wyoming Eviction Notices
Download our professional examples
Wyoming Eviction Notice Types
It’s necessary to provide the correct type of Wyoming eviction notice to the tenant you’re removing from your property. If you don’t, the eviction could be overturned or take significantly longer to complete.
You must give your tenant the precise legal document for the situation, detailing a valid legal reason for the eviction under WY statutes. This will also affect how long you must give the resident as notice before they have to leave the property.
As seen below, there are a few different options in Wyoming when completing an eviction.
3-Day Notice to Quit (Non-Payment/Non-Compliance)
If the tenant fails to pay rent or violates the lease, you can serve them with a 3-Day eviction notice. This requires the tenant to either pay the rent owed, correct the breach, or quit the property within 3 days (W.S. § 1-21-1003).
Assuming the tenant pays the rent or fixes the lease violation within this time given, the notice will be null and void. However, if the payment isn’t made or the breach isn’t fixed, and they still refuse to leave, the landlord can sue the tenant in court.
30-Day Notice to Quit (Month-to-Month)
30 Day-Notice to Quit documents are used to evict month-to-month tenants or those who don’t have a fixed lease without providing any given cause. This allows the landlord to inform the tenant that they must vacate the property within 30 days or face a legal challenge.
Wyoming Eviction Laws
An eviction notice in Wyoming is only legally valid if it provides the correct amount of notice based on the purpose for the lease termination. The reason you evict the resident must also comply with WY law.
In Wyoming, you may evict someone for the following reasons:
|Non-payment/non-compliance||3 days (§ 1-21-1002)|
|Non-payment of Rent||3 days (§ 1-21-1002)|
|Lease termination (month-to-month)||30 days (No Laws)|
|Evicion Lawsuit||Forcible Entry & Detainer (FED)(§ 1-21-1001 – 1-21-1016)|
Wyoming Eviction Process
Evicting a tenant in Wyoming follows a strict legal process. When issuing an eviction notice, you must make sure that you correctly:
Detail the reason the lease is being terminated.
Provide sufficient time for the tenant to respond.
Serve the notice in a legally appropriate manner.
In most cases, that is enough to make a tenant vacate on their own. However, as an eviction is a lawsuit procedure, it may be necessary to take additional steps if the resident refuses to leave.
To complete an eviction process in WY, you will need to:
Serve an eviction notice with the correct notice period and a legal reason to evict.
File for an eviction in a local court if the tenant doesn’t obey the notice.
Attend the court hearing in person to make your case to the judge.
Request a Writ of Restitution from the clerk of the court if the judge rules in your favor.
Deliver the Writ to local law enforcement, so they may carry out a forced eviction.
Eviction Notice Sample
When you prepare your own WY eviction notice, it can be hard to have a clear idea of what the final document will look like. If you need a little extra guidance on how your legal document will appear, simply review our eviction notice sample below.
Other Real Estate Documents
There are several other legal documents that can be useful for landlords or when managing real estate. If you are currently renting out a property, or plan to do so in the future, use the following documents below to ensure your property is properly looked after:
FAQs About Wyoming Eviction Notices
Before starting your eviction notice for real, it is sensible to understand the ins and outs of these important legal documents. Read more about Wyoming’s eviction notices in our FAQs below and learn how to use these forms effectively.
How to Evict Someone in Wyoming?
To successfully evict a tenant in Wyoming state, the landlord or property manager must serve a legally valid eviction notice. This must provide the correct number of days to comply and a legitimate reason to evict. It can be served in person, to a family member, someone else living on the premises, or left in a conspicuous location and mailed.
If the tenant doesn’t comply and vacate the property as instructed, the landlord will then have to petition a court. If the judge rules in their favor, they will then be able to use a local marshal or sheriff to forcibly evict the tenant.
How Long Does It Take to Evict a Tenant in Wyoming?
In many cases, a Wyoming eviction can be completed in 3-4 weeks. Once the eviction notice is served, the tenant will have between 3 - 30 days to vacate. If they comply, then the process will be over as soon as the notice period ends.
However, serving the eviction notice incorrectly can lead to delays in the process. Also, if the tenant refuses to vacate, eviction procedures can take somewhat longer. To go through the court process can take up to 2 months, depending on how busy the district or housing court system is at the time.
How to File for Eviction in Wyoming
If a tenant doesn’t comply after being served with a legally valid Wyoming eviction notice, it will be necessary to file a Forcible Entry and Detainer case against them. To do this, the landlord will need to visit their local circuit court, file the case with the clerk of the court, and provide the following evidence:
A copy of the lease agreement
The eviction notice that has been served (including proof of service)
Proof of any violations such as photographs, police reports, or receipts
Any witnessing parties to the violations